DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How can such a brilliantly designed tool become such a pain in the butt

Calhoun Ranger

Reactions
I have flown my Mavic many times, with the only problem being the occasional flameout of the GO4 app. Today was different.
I noticed a slight drift in the yaw, so I decided to perform an RC calibration. Just to make sure I was taking the right steps, I watched the DJI "how-to" video on YouTube.
After performing the calibration, I started the Mavic and launched it, only to discover that the sticks had ABSOLUTELY NO EFFECT. It hung about 4 feet in the air. RTH did nothing. Attempting to land from the GO4 app had no impact. I didn't want to try the RSC yet, as I wasn't ready to let it fall to the pavement.
The only option left was a hand-catch, which I have never done before. I caught it, and tried to shut down the battery. The Mavic, instead of shutting down, only revved higher, trying to climb.
While holding the Mavic in one hand, I tried the ESC. No impact at all.
I shut down the RC and re-started it. After several tries, the ESC finally shut it down.
The motors were hot enough to burn my hands.
One half hour later, I decided to "get back on that horse". I re-calibrated the RC, shut it down, and re-started everything in my normal order. The RC looked totally normal and the GO4 app looked totally normally and the Mavic looked totally ready to fly.
I did NOT want to use GO4 to launch it, because I did not want to end up right in that problem zone again. I tried to launch it using only the left stick forward, but there was no response.
That's where it sits. I am incredibly frustrated.
Any ideas?

Reactions: boxsterfahrer
I have flown my Mavic many times, with the only problem being the occasional flameout of the GO4 app. Today was different.