DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How does the maivc tell the time?

andykearns

Reactions
Hi Guys just a quick one,

Im doing a thesis on the mavic pro and need to determine how the time is stamped onto the image.

I originally presumed it was GPS time, but when i ran the images through an exif viewer the GPS time wasn't there.

Cheers let me know

The DJI Go app picks it up from whatever device you're using to fly it with.

Reactions: Kilrah
Off your device. A way to prove that would be to set the incorrect time on your device and take a photo.

Reactions: macusers
The DJI Go app picks it up from whatever device you're using to fly it with.

I doubt this is the case as the Spark and Air can be flown without an device or controller and the Pro can be flown without a device and only a controller.

I suspect it comes from the GPS unit as the GPS unit needs to be _extremely_ accurate. I'm pretty sure GPS sat send their own time directly to the GPS chip in the drone. I'm guessing this is simply converted or read into real world time.

I suspect it comes from the GPS unit as the GPS unit needs to be _extremely_ accurate. I'm pretty sure GPS sat send their own time directly to the GPS chip in the drone. I'm guessing this is simply converted or read into real world time.

I’m going to agree with from the GPS satellites I know my Garmin gets it from the Satellites and also uses it to set the correct Time Zone.

Reactions: dvarapala
Every gps sat has an atomic clock. This then gets sent to the device that is using the gps signal, at least that’s what I remember from land surveying school 20 years ago

Reactions: dvarapala
Every gps sat has an atomic clock. This then gets sent to the device that is using the gps signal, at least that’s what I remember from land surveying school 20 years ago