DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How does the Mav do in the winter?

Samson 811970

Reactions
Hi all, relative noob here... Had my MP for about 2 months and have about 5 hours flight time... I'm getting pretty good at it and enjoy it immensely.

Anyway, I'm in upstate New York, and before I blink an eye, it will be pretty cold outside, and eventually winter and the requisite snow will be here, and last for several months. I ask those more experienced than I what I can expect as far as flying in the colder months.

The thought of putting up my Mavic until March or April of 2018 is **** depressing!

Any thoughts about winter flying are appreciated.

The Mavic does quite well in cold weather if you keep your batteries and mobile device warm before flying. You can find some good cold weather flying tips here, here, and here.

I live in Michigan. I find that my fingers are the limiting factor when flying in the winter.

I need fingertips exposed as the iPad doesn't work with gloves, and 20 minutes of not wearing gloves in 20 degree temps is generally enough for me.

They make "special" gloves that work with touch screens but I've never used them myself.

I tried a pair of those gloves and they did not work well with me .
I have seen mitts for Phantom TX's but none for the mavic yet .

I find it's harder to maneuver the sticks while wearing gloves. I usually fly until my fingers cannot take it anymore -- and then I call it quits :D

I find it's harder to maneuver the sticks while wearing gloves. I usually fly until my fingers cannot take it anymore -- and then I call it quits :D
That seems like it makes sense... I really need to feel the sticks... To lose that touch would be difficult.

So the sensors work on in the colder Temps?

Also, is battery life impacted by the cold?