DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How long did you spend preparing for the Part 107 test? (non-pilots)

AtomQ

Reactions
I am trying to get a sense of the amount of time one should allow for preparation for the Part 107 test? Specifically, for people who do not have any pilot/flying experience. As a teacher myself, I know there are a lot of variables but I thought I could get a sense by seeing a collection of responses here from people who are drone pilots specifically.

Thanks!

I've seen people study for a week and pass, or take 4 weeks.

A lot depends on how well you retain what you learn. And remember, passing the test is only the beginning. You have to keep learning to fly safe.

I took 2 weeks reading through the FAA material, taking practice tests, and watching YouTube videos. I got a 78 which was a bit of a disappointment since I was getting high 90's on practice tests. I was just happy to pass in the end.

I spent an hour or 2 each night during that period to prepare. As a non pilot of anything other than a car, i was starting at 0 :) I found most of the material interesting.

I probably put in about 18 hours of concentrated study over 2.5 weeks, and ran maybe 6 practice tests. Scored 96. One just plain wrong answer, and one question tripped up by tricky wording.

This was in addition to a 4cr. college course that was a very general introduction to everything drone in the context of GIS/Precision Ag, but wasn’t specifically test prep. Test orientation maybe. It did give me a pretty clear idea of what I needed to do to prep for the test, as well as flying experience, drone maintenance, state and local law affecting drones, and a good overview of drone hazards and liabilities.