DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How long (hours, flights, distance) before flying was 'natural'?

MadProphet

Reactions
For new pilots, never flown a drone before, how long was it before you were able to stop thinking about how to do it and just fly?
I've been shooting pictures with a dslr for years, so I've got camera settings down, at least for stills but video is still a challenge.
What I'm really interested in tho is how long it took before you could fly without thinking which stick movement did what. While I'm working on creating videos that are smoother, a lot of my problem is not jerking the stick but rather panning down when I meant to pan up or increasing altitude when I intended to go forward. Pushing forward on the left stick feels counter-intuitive sometimes as does using the right for forward / back. I've considered changing stick modes, but that would mean starting over since I have no experience.
I've flown four days with about 2.5 hours and around 12 miles (?). Am I expecting too much, too soon?

It takes as long as it takes, for me it was after about 12 hours of flying for others it may take longer, look at it like driving a car, some pass a test after 5 lessons and others spend months driving before passing a test.

I know people who have flown for a long time but still get confused when the quad is facing them

Most people starting for the first time will use the FPV screen solely for orientation. After a short while, that feels like playing a first person video game. Most think that they can fly by then.
It is great to read that you are seriously trying to learn to actually fly.