DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How real is the fear of Fly Aways?

gjmphoto

Reactions
I'm a new flyer with an MPP since the middle of December. Given the weather in the NY area, I'm reading more than I'm flying. However, so far, all of my flights have been an absolute pleasure and I've experienced total control. I'm a photographer and I love the added dimension of aerial imagery.

But I'm reading here about all of these fly-aways! If I was to believe all that I've read, I'd have to anticipate that it's not a matter of IF I'll get a fly away, it's a matter of WHEN!

Is this true? Am I destined to lose my drone? Is there something I can do to mitigate the risk? I'd like to believe that if I don't fly in high winds, or near large metal structures, or anything else I can control, that I won't have to worry about the MPP failing to come back to me. I can't believe there'd be a market for $1000+ throw-aways.

I do have insurance (State Farm)...but that only protects me financially...it doesn't protect me from the anxiety each time I put it up in the air!

Is it really just a question of "when"?

Yes -- learn how to pilot your Mavic and know what to do when things don't go as expected.

Here are some must-read items for all Mavic owners:
Had already read all but the last and just read that one. Thanks for the links.

I did notice that you didn't actually answer my question :) Coming from Mavic Help, I read that as a warning sign. I'll do whatever I can ... but not having you say, "Your chances are minimal if you follow these rules", makes me a little suspect :) Stuff happens...but does stuff happen to the best of us? Have YOU ever had a fly-away?

I have no fear of them. I always make sure home point is recorded and know how to control drone when app crashes.
I avoid situations that cause them. Like ignoring warnings of compass abnormality or high interference.