DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How stuff works ... or why altitude readings are not reliable

RCFun

Reactions
I am by no means a scientist and definitely not the smartest guy in the room, but I am curious about how the tech works that I rely on.
I've discovered a few interesting things and thought I'd share in case it helps someone else.

Altitude measurement is not reliable, and why you can safely fly off a cliff
Apparently it is not yet possible to get accurate altitude (above sonar range) using a GPS or Barometer.
The Barometer measures air pressure, not height above the ground. It turns out air pressure is an ever changing lumpy custard that gives even the best aircraft equipment grief. It gives 'sort-of' results. Flying in fog over mountains using just instruments is a crazy idea, even for a pro aircraft pilot. You will often see strange altitudes (like -90m) in your logs because it is quite hard to calculate air pressure from something that generates its own wind system, plus the flux of air as the sun changes position, a gust of wind, or a butterfly flapping its wings in Brazil.

The bad news is that your drone doesn't know how high you are above the ground (sonar excepted), only your rough height above sea level. The good news is that the drone doesn't know how high you are above the ground, so you can fly off the edge of mountains without worrying that height limits will kick in and you will have to hike down to get your craft.
The height limit is for the height above the takeoff point, so if you set your limit to 300ft then you can fly 300ft above the takeoff point regardless of the terrain.

A LIDAR (LASER range finder) would be super accurate in clear weather, but I haven't seen one on a DJI drone yet. (DJI, you there?) Although it is creeping in to higher-end drones.
Those 3D Models of every tree and house you now see on Google Earth were generated using LIDAR scanning.