DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Howto : tilted double-grid mission for 3D photogrammetry ?

imavicpilots

Reactions
Hi, I'm new to the drone world. I'd like to put my new mavic pro titanium drone to the best use.
I'd like to use it for 3D photogrammetry.
Apparently, the best way of doing this is through a double-grid mission (not just waypoints or orbits), but when checking available (free) software, it seems to me only Pix4D has this implemented. Is this correct ? It doesn't seem to be the case in DJI GO 4 or Litchi.
I did recently found out about the free version of Dronelink, which looks amazing. Would this be the nec plus ultra app for drone mapping and if so, is it easy to create double-grid missions with it ?
Before I forget : some of my missions involve slopes. Is it easily possible to set different heights for the drone upon such missions ?
Thanks for any help on this...

Last edited:
Dronelink does indeed have a double grid for photogrammetry. It works really well.

I recently made this with a Spark and Agisoft metashape. The area is circa 3900m2 and the difference in elevation i about 8m

If you are doing this recreationally or for educational use, Dronelink is also free and has double grid also as solely a flight control program.

But as for varying flying heights to maintain a constant AGL for sites with slopes, I have only found that one has to manually set it in all of the free and low cost programs I’ve seen. Have you asked this question on the commercial drone site? There are usually more specialized discussions regarding this topic on this forum: