DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I am a new Mavic 2 Pro owner and new to MavicPilots. I want to use a tablet, but not sure which is best.

From all I had read the go app seems to prefer ios devices.
I really can’t say as I have never owned anything Android.

Myself no I just position myself where I don’t need one
but that’s just me.

When you're talking about a tablet holder I assume you're thinking a 10in size tablet?

Although it's frequently claimed otherwise, Android devices can work well with DJI Go but you need to make sure you choose a suitable one. There's a compatibility list here compiled from user feedback:

The current Galaxy Tab S5e isn't listed but has been reported to work fine although it lacks a headphone jack, I use the older Galaxy Tab S3 which I've had no issues with.

Thank you... yes, the 10 inch is what i am looking for and i know the S3 is a pretty good tablet. i've read you must have cellular to use the RTH and Track me mode, is that correct?

I prefer Android... everything we use it that along with Microsoft for Post
The best flying tablets in an Android flavour are the Huawei M3 and M5.
They are at least as good as any iPad for flying.
I haven't tried one, but they have a new M6 that should also be excellent (but more expensive).
i've read you must have cellular to use the RTH and Track me mode, is that correct?
No
Your drone has it's own GPS receiver that it uses for RTH

If you wanted to use Follow-me mode with an iPad, you would have to have a cellular iPad, because Apple don't include a GPS receiver in non-cellular iPads.
But Follow-me is old tech anyway and Active Track is better and does not need a GPS enabled tablet anyway.

Last edited:
Reactions: Gindra