DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I don't really know how to word my question? Mavic cutting video clips short?

biggins82786

Reactions
I am new to the drone world, DJI, Mavic Pro, etc. However, I am not new to video recording or cameras. I took the drone out to Savannah, Ga today and flew four batteries worth of flight and recorded just about all of it in 4K on a single 64gb SanDisk Extreme Plus card. My last battery, I started video recording when I lifted off and stopped recording when I landed. When I got home and looked at the video, the Mavic had cut the last batteries video clip in half, making it two separate video clips. I know for a fact I didn't press for it to stop recording and start back. Is this normal? Why would it do this? The total video for the whole day was ~16gb so it wasn't due to filling the card. Ideas? Thoughts? Something I don't know?

Reactions: GGehret and BigAl07
This is normal, each clip is limited to 4GB. You will just need to merge them in post.

I think the system keeps the files sizes down to a certain Max Size to system integrity.

the Mavic had cut the last batteries video clip in half, making it two separate video clips. I know for a fact I didn't press for it to stop recording and start back. Is this normal?
Yes. There is no way to prevent that from occurring once the video reaches about 4GB. You can join the video files using a video editor.

Reactions: biggins82786
Good! That means nothing is wrong lol

Why does it do that?