DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I Learned the Hard Way

Reactions
I'm a novice. I was flying a DJI Mini 2 over a small bay at a distance of 3/4 mile. I ignored the low battery alert and flew a little longer since the drone always returned with plenty of battery life. I got a forced landing in the middle of the bay. That flushing sound was my $370 drone sinking to the bottom. Learnings:

1. Don't ignore the RTH alert. Live to fly another day.
2. Fly home as low as possible. It conserves battery life and delays the forced landing a bit. I had RTH set at 300'
3. Return to home over land, if possible. I could have veered the return 60 yards left or right and it would have stayed dry.
I immediately ordered a new Mini 2. Incredible piece of technology.
Live and learn.
1660754423979.png

The Intelligent Battery system is there for a reason, and other than factors like wind that it can't account for, it's become pretty good over many years of refinement.

Ignore at your peril.

However, should you, definitely DO NOT use RTH to come home. Assume you won't make it back, fly it yourself with full control, and be continuously flying a course over land that allows you to land somewhere safe and accessible when you're forced to.

BTW, was a victim of this too myself doing a range test with the MA1 along the coast. Was RTHing back, just 200m off shore because of the concave curvature of the shore. When it started forced landing I desperately tried to get it back to the beach while it was descending, didn't make it.

Had I been flying it back, I would have been over the beach the entire time.

Last edited:
Reactions: Droniac