DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I like the DJI Lut. Am I inexperienced?

joeywestside

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I just side-graded from the Air 2 to the Mavic 2 Pro and I'm working on color grading. I tend to prefer a cinematic look for YouTube, or a more vibrant look for Instagram/FB. I've looked at several different luts and I'm really preferring the DJI Lut with some other tweaks. I'm using Lumafusion. Does that mean I'm just inexperienced at color grading and have an immature taste in color? Will other people see my stuff and think I'm a noob? Thanks everyone.

-Joe

In my opinion, LUTS are a bad idea, learn to colour grade properly, develop a style of your own, make your own Presets , plus LUTS are destructive in that they’ll clip highlights (and black point) which are not recoverable.

In my opinion, LUTS are a bad idea, learn to colour grade properly, develop a style of your own, make your own Presets , plus LUTS are destructive in that they’ll clip highlights (and black point) which are not recoverable.
DJI LUTs are just conversion LUTs. They convert D-Log D-gamut to rec. 709. Practically all colorists will use some type of transform wether it be color management, ACES, or conversion LUTs on log footage.

LUTs aren’t destructive and I don’t even know what that means in this context. If you are using conversation LUTs correctly you won’t clip anything. You can manually covert log but that’s a personal preference and for the sake of time almost no colorists do this.

Thanks for sharing!