DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I lost my Mavic mini

Haytham Helal

Reactions
Hi All,
Yesterday I was flying my new mavic mini with wrong estimation for wind and once I started to fly, the wind pushed the drone away, I lost control of the drone and accidentally my mobile restarted so I lost sight of the drone physically and at my mobile.
Since this moment, I don't know where is my drone and when I checked "Find my drone" I found it away from me by 134m at altitude 21m which is the moment I lost connection.
Since yesterday, I am searching in the area surrounded by last seen location with average consideration of 12 second of automatic landing, direction of wind and speed of the drone.
Unfortunately, I couldn't find it.
I am new to the drone world so I am not sure if I mad something wrong to loss it, however definitely wrong estimation for the wind strength was primary for this accident.

1. Could you please help me to know if there is any way to identify the location of drone while it's powered off? Here is the short fly log and its analysis at Airdata:
  2. Can "DJI support" help in finding my drone or it's my responsibility? I don't even registered in DJI care, another mistake I guess... I can't reach to support team now as it's weekend and they are available only during working week days :(

All you advises and opinion will be appreciated but please let's avoid criticizing flying in high wind as I know its a primary mistake.
Thanks in advance.

I can't help you but can commiserate. I had a downed craft a while ago, fairly near me, and it was hard to find. My guess is it's all your legwork. I sure HOPE DJI doesn't have independent tracking on these things. Could it have landed on that roof? It's very close to your end mark and you were, after all, being blown around by the wind.

Last edited:
Reactions: Motorcycle Rider
Could you not hear your drone beeping either?

I couldn't view the link you sent...