DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I saved my Air from RTHing away

Epp1983

Reactions
Hey guys, yesterday was an experiment day.
I'm usually a believer of knowing the limitations of equiment. If you know what they are capable of you know what to expect from them.
I was a Mavic Pro owner for over an year I think I have tried every aspect of it.
Yesterday I decided to see the Mavic Air response to loss of connection.

The basics:
- No wind
- Constant LOS
- Home point set
- 60m RTH height
- No sensor errors (checked right before turning remote control off, and no issues while flying before the test)

I hovered the drone roughly 400 feet away from me at a height of 120 feet and switched off the remote.
After about 3 seconds the Air started climbing to the predefined RTH height. So far so good.
But then it turned to the oposite direction and started to move further away from the home point.
I immediatly turned on the remote and a little after I regained downlink.
Before canceling the RTH I checked the map to see if the home point had changed, and it had not.
The aircraft was indeed moving away from homepoint, and still no sensor errors.
RTH was then cancelled and I flew the drone back to me (the homepoint) for a successful retrieval.

After this incident, I popped a fresh battery and repeated the experiment under the same conditions and while hovering in the previous location (at the time I tought it could be some kind of magnetic interference at that location).
The drone executed the RTH correctly.

Now, this first RTH was pretty odd as everything was correctly set.
I've seen a couple of flyaway happening but usually they are due to pilor errors.

I'll leave the flightlog for you to check if you want to.
DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Remote control off is at 12m 5s.
Downlink restored at 12m 54.3s.

Let me know your thoughts about this incident.
Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Emanuel

Last edited: