DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Idiot lost mavic

Rj123

Reactions
Another idiot post I'm afraid. Complete noob to drone flying but long time ignorer of manuals. The more I read these forums the more I'm ashamed of not having properly researched basic things and having just set off with my mavic believing it would all be fine. Hopefully someone else reads this and learns from my mistake.
So I took the mavic out over some fields from my house, it's all farm land so I thought no worries and let it go out of sight. Biggest mistake I made was not reading the rules on height and flying up to 500m which I now realise is both illegal and completely stupid. Please be warned. A fair distance away the mavic complained of low battery and I initiated return to home. My guess is the almost non existent wind down low was a hurricane 500m up and the mavic struggled to get home before saying it needed to land. It started doing this but the lower it got the worse the signal got as it was so far away and now must have had trees blocking it. Eventually I see it landing next to a path in a field of wheat but aircraft is non responsive and picture like an 8 bit snes flight simulator, but it complained about ground not being suitable for landing, find alternative. Oddly enough I don't see this flash up on flight log. It then completely lost connection never to be seen again. I've been back to the GPS coordinates but cannot see any sign of it or destroyed wheat that I'd imagine it would have caused. It may be there but it is literally like looking for a needle in a haystack. If anyone can shed some light on if the drone would have landed there or would have initiated return to home again after losing connection that would really help my search effort and sore feet.
Hopefully someone reads this and decides to respect drone flying as a hobby and keep their drone at legal limits and in eye sight.

Logs I think

Attachments