DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

im confused

bradjm924

Reactions
hey everyone,

im in pittsburgh pa, usa.

i dont know if i either dont completly understand or am confused a bit... but i live pretty close to the downtown area of the city and there a bunch of restrictions that pop up when i open up my apps to check before i fly. im consistently in a yellow zone but there is never any authoriztions i would need. i guess my question is can you fly in a restricted zone as long as you pay attention to all the rules (altitude, vlos, ect). theres a few schools, hospitals, heliports and an airport about 15 miles away. my drone is registered and im just a recreational pilot.

im just trying to not get in trouble or get any heat from authorities. the only municipal laws that i know of are no parks.

any help understanding this would be greatly appreciated. or better yet, if anyone knows where a good place in pittsburgh is.

sorry if this is repetitive or if i sound totally stupid for even asking. thanks again.

Not sure where you mean exactly when you say "close to downtown". Areas of Saint Clair, Carrick, Overbrook, West Park, etc are in controlled airspace, either from Allegheny County Airport or PIT airport.

A more exact location would help.

Reactions: Motorcycle Rider
i guess my question is can you fly in a restricted zone as long as you pay attention to all the rules (altitude, vlos, ect). theres a few schools, hospitals, heliports and an airport about 15 miles away. my drone is registered and im just a recreational pilot.