DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Inability to decide between Air and Pro Platinum

Alvarez

Reactions
Greetings pilots,

I'd like your opinions regarding to the possible purchase of either models above, as the usage will be specific. I kinda did my homework about Spark, then Air; (I opted for Spark then decided to go with Air because of the requirements).

I live in Switzerland, so 'the' drone will be used in three major domains:

* Mountain areas; during casual and/or semi alpine hiking. I'm mentioning this, because the area will have elevation, possible dark zones (signal wise), weather conditions may vary.
* Low density areas; part of the hike above. I don't expect high wi-fi interference but I do need to respect privacy laws so any passage over alpine villages has to be done relatively high altitude, also sound.
* High density areas; city coverage, maybe zones like train yards (I'm studying mechanical engineering, so call it 'I have a thing for trains'). There I expect wifi interference, and even possible interference coming from overhead lines. Again, the device must fly relatively above.
** I'm definitely planing to shoot Zurich Hauptbahnhof, so it's highly dense area, where signal will play important part.

If I use on mountains, I'm not sure if Air will works as intended. I did learn that Platinum Pro has better signal transmission than Air that is working on purely wifi. It'll be complicated if I lose the signal in the middle of nowhere because I was behind a rock or a side of a hill. Same issue applies in urban area due to the signal interference (even busses have their own wifi)

Thus the question is: what drone ?

Platinum Pro (which is 1,200ish bucks now), that is above 500g or Air that is less than 500g (1,100bucks) ? While keeping the conditions of use above

Problem is I can only get one drone, thus I'm asking your help/opinions about it,

Thanks in advance