DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Information on Cuban Customs

endamcguane

Reactions
Hi,

It's my first time ever posting anything on any online forum but I think when it comes to possibly losing your drone any information is helpful and I hope this post helps anyone who found themselves in the position I was in just a few days ago. (Nov 2019)

I'm on a round the world trip with girlfriend and Cuba was our first stop. At the airport in Havana they scan and check all bags coming through. My drone was seized and over the course of 2 hours or so I was brought from official to official to see what was to be done.

Long story short I left the airport but my drone was taken into a white cotton sack and secured with blue cable ties. It was put in a wooden crate behind a desk.

I was also given a document (in Spanish naturally) which said it would be kept in Retention for 30 days, after which it is available to collect (if deemed safe) for a 30 day window if you have proof you are leaving the country. All of this, it turns out, is completely made up.

Cubans I met and spoke to told me to go to the airport early on the day we leave and be mad as hell. Start showing your passport and asking for a manager. Demand your property back and state that you will speak to your embassy etc.

All that goes against my better nature and I would rather avoid an argument and a show, but we did it....and it worked!

Arrived 6 hours early. Couldn't speak to customs until 3hours or so before flight when you are checked in. The customs people are where you walk through the body scanner at the airport. That seems to be their office.