DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

iPad mini 2 or android tablet as Mavic Air display?

Silverspirit

Reactions
Hi everyone.

I'm a new pilot and currently use my Samsung Galaxy S8+ as the display for my Mavic Air. I find some of the controls such as RTH difficult to touch when mounted to the controller (the hand grips make it really difficult to use the on screen buttons). I would also like a bigger screen.

My sister has a second hand iPad mini 2 she's willing to sell me. I've heard they're ok but there's some issue with whether it has GPS fitted? Alternatively I prefer Android tablets but I've heard they're not compatible with DJI Go 4?

Any advice would be greatly received!

I am also an android fan , but DJI go 4 does work better with apple devices. you will need at least ipad mini 4.
the ipad mini 2 might work if you use it in airplane mode and disable local video cache on the app.
also don't use screen recorder on ipad. This is just my opinion. use it with grain of salt.

FYI - MacRumors - expecting iPad Mini 5 first half of 2019, in case you want the latest and greatest.

FYI - MacRumors - expecting iPad Mini 5 first half of 2019, in case you want the latest and greatest.

Is there any (drone) benefit for the latest and greatest? I know not all people do, but seems like many use dedicated devices so a leap to a mini 5 would seem like a waste of money if that is all you use it for.

Is there any (drone) benefit for the latest and greatest? I know not all people do, but seems like many use dedicated devices so a leap to a mini 5 would seem like a waste of money if that is all you use it for.