DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Is the part 107 harder now than it was a few years back?

ihavequestions

Reactions
When I took it, it was kind of easy but I know people who have studied pretty hard and failed! It looks like they keep amending it and in April, they added a lot of new knowledge questions.

I just took it about 4 months ago and I didn't find it too hard but then again I'm an instrument rated private pilot. I hear that the hardest part is reading the charts but as you can imagine that was a piece of cake for me. I would imagine someone that doesn't have any previous flying experience then yes, it would be challenging.

Reactions: dawgpilot
The April additions were no harder - they just included additional questions in the pool, covering regulatory changes such as operations over people, over vehicles, and night operations.

I found several of the knowledge areas difficult, and worked extra hard on charts, airspace, and especially weather/hazards. With good prep, lots of study, and many practice tests I had no difficulties in the initial or recurrent exams.

Neither were easy for me. It *did* take some serious study. If you found it easy more power to you.

I've only taken it once, and I'm also an instrument rated private pilot. That said I think for a first time pilot, charting, and in particular airspace, would be the most challenging. Plus reading weather reports.

I took it this past August. I took a lot of practice tests after studying and prepping. While I scored a 95%, the questions weren't anything near like the practice questions. A real change up on wording the questions. Tricky. Several questions came down to eliminating the most incorrect answers. More questions focused on night flying operations; flying over people etc. Sectional charts, weather and PAVE and PIC responsibilities filled out the remainder.

Reactions: maggior