DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Is this crash damage to be worried about?

809UmUm

Reactions
So I did something dumb & am feeling really stupid, but can you guys help a newbie out?

I'm still learning to fly drones and was practicing flying facing myself to get comfortable with the controls "reversed". It was getting dark, but I wanted just a few more minutes before the rainy weekend started. I was flying backwards away from me and after I let go of the stick it drifted for another second or so. Directly into a wooden privacy fence :(.

It hit the ground and I guess there was enough momentum to fold one of the front arms back and fold the props up like for storage. I really didn't think I was moving that fast at all! I folded the arm back out and it snapped in place like normal and did not feel loose.

2 of the props have what appears to be scuffing on them, this is the worst one. I couldn't see any nicks in any of the props, but I felt a very small one on 2 props running my finger along the edges.

20200821_204433.jpg

None of the arms felt loose and I powered the drone back up. The preflight check said to check the props to make sure they were installed correctly. I took all 4 props off, visually inspected everything and not seeing anything unusual reinstalled the props and powered it back up. This time the preflight check passed and it lifted off. I took it to about 6' and did slowly made several spins, side slips and flew forward and backward. Everything appeared normal and it appeared to fly normal.

Taking it back inside I did a closer inspection of the drone itself and noticed a small gap difference between the 2 rear legs (shown here).

Rear Legs.PNG

The gap on the right is even all the way around the joint and I honestly can't say if it was like this before the crash or not.