DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Issues Flying Indoors

Skull

Reactions
I am a police officer assigned to SWAT and one of 6 UAS pilots on our team (all Part 107 licensed). We employ the Mavic for two reasons: outside a target to scout for a scheduled operation and for situational awareness during the operation, and indoors to search for the armed/barricaded suspect before we send officers in. We face two issues flying indoors: 1) low light for actually trying to see what we are searching for (which we can mitigate through boosting the ISO and/or installing lights -- still waiting on LumeCube's release), and 2) the Mavic going to ATTI mode when it loses GPS and Optical (due to the low light). During training recently, I found that the Mavic assigned to me would revert to ATTI mode far sooner than one of the other team member's machines under identical circumstances, and my Mavic seems to fly significantly more 'uncontrollably' than the other guys'. So two questions: 1) how can I check to see that my Mavic is 'optimized' to fly under ATTI mode when it reverts to that, and 2) any general tips for flying under ATTI mode. Thanks!

Reactions: dirkclod