DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Jerky videos - Counsel on altering yaw sensitivity, rate of turn and video frame rate, please

KLJ5

Reactions
Hi everyone. I'm quite new to drones, video and video editing. (learning DaVinci Resolve slowly but surely) I haven't yet learned how to make a video from my Mavic 2 Pro without having parts of it jerky. I've contemplated lowering the yaw sensitivity to try to address jerky transitions from straight ahead to yaw, but my smart controller cautions against playing with the sensitivity if one isn't experienced. I've read recommendations to use a frame rate of 25 fpm and double that for shutter speed (1/50) However, in searching for solutions to jerkiness, I've read other recommendations to up the frame rate to smooth things out. (no 4k with 60 fpm) Others have recommended turn rates of no greater that 5°/second. That would be pretty tough to gauge, I think. So my questions are as follows:
  • Would you recommend lowering the sensitivity of the yaw rate? If so, to what number? Why or why not?
  • Should I leave the frame rate where it is, or??.....
  • Any tips on how to gauge and maintain a turn rate of x degrees per second?
Thanx in advance for any insight you can provide to me.

First and foremost, before changing any settings (some of which certainly help), I think it's useful to just realize that you won't always have smooth action, so shoot with that in mind.

In other words: know you're going to have jerky movements and plan to edit them out, go ahead and pan BEYOND the point you need, knowing that your edit point will occur before the jerky stop.

Of course, it's still a problem if you want there to be a full stop in the final video.

Trim the start and end, but you can also cut it in the middle if there's some jerky movement there too.

You really don't want super long single-cut scenes anyways, and movement always helps keep the viewer's interest.

Chris