DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Keeping batteries charged or not?

gleff

Reactions
HI all,

So i'm a new drone pilot, and my understanding is if you don't intent to fly within a 10 day period, you should discharge the batteries (or let it do it themselves) to around 50-60%. This is all well and good in theory, but I don't always know when I'm going to go flying, and just had an unfortunate experience of having my batteries and remote sitting at approximately that charge when I decided I might head out try and get a quick fly around before it rains.

So I started charging over an hour ago, and it's still charging, and now i've missed the boat because it just started to rain.

What do you guys do with regards to your battery charging? I personally like to keep devices topped up for when you need them, but decided to do what was suggested if not using the drone for around 10 days. The problem is, I don't know when I'm going to suddenly want to get some flying in, and don't always have the luxury of waiting around. Today it was rain, previously it was wind. It wasn't windy when I started charging, but within 1.5 hours, it was starting to get windy. I'm suddenly left with fully charged batteries again, and may not use them for another 10 days or longer. I feel like i'm ruining the batteries by continuously recharging them, discharging them by running the drone in my living room in idle to discharge them, etc but not actually flying.

Just curious what others do, and your experience with the longevity of the batteries.

Store then at 40-50%. Charge the days batteries to full the night before.... or morning before if an afternoon flight.