DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MarshMadness

Reactions
So I’m new to flying altogether and am piloting a Mavic Mini in Greenville, SC. There are a few parks in Greenville that are larger and nicer (Conestee Park and Falls Park for the locals) that I was planning on flying in, but they’re covered by authorization zones due to nearby airports. Tried using Kittyhawk to get LAANC authorization but it’s not available for these airports.

After a little bit of research, I found that you should be able to get approval to fly in authorization zones through FAA’s DroneZone but all I see are the recreational and part 107 registration portals. Has anyone ever used DroneZone to unlock authorization zones? Do I need to register my drone even though it’s under the weight requirements for recreational registration?

So I’m new to flying altogether and am piloting a Mavic Mini in Greenville, SC. There are a few parks in Greenville that are larger and nicer (Conestee Park and Falls Park for the locals) that I was planning on flying in, but they’re covered by authorization zones due to nearby airports. Tried using Kittyhawk to get LAANC authorization but it’s not available for these airports.

After a little bit of research, I found that you should be able to get approval to fly in authorization zones through FAA’s DroneZone but all I see are the recreational and part 107 registration portals. Has anyone ever used DroneZone to unlock authorization zones? Do I need to register my drone even though it’s under the weight requirements for recreational registration?
You don’t need to register your mini if you don’t add on thing weighing 1 gram or more.
I have my practice area, about 4 square miles, unlocked via DronZone. FAA gave 2 years clearance. My TO area for this is covered by 2 NFZs, one from a regional port with LAANC and one from a local airport which is still not on LAANC.