DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Landing on a boat Using a Mav 2 pro

UberStonks

Reactions
Hi all
Im new to drone flying and will be going on a weeks boat trip Around Croatia in a few months. My question is about return to home. I want to take off when the boat is moving, take some shots of the boat sailing and then return to the boat. If I hit the return home button, Will the drone try and return to the position it took off from or will it return to my new position. I have read a few posts regarding flying over water but none seem to address RTH. Some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Im new to drone flying and will be going on a weeks boat trip Around Croatia in a few months. My question is about return to home. I want to take off when the boat is moving, take some shots of the boat sailing and then return to the boat. If I hit the return home button, Will the drone try and return to the position it took off from or will it return to my new position. I have read a few posts regarding flying over water but none seem to address RTH. Some advice would be greatly appreciated.
RTH uses the home point that the drone records when you start it up and it first gets good GPS location data.
On a boat you never want to let the drone try to RTH and autoland.

Out on a boat you can get some great images, but, it's a very unforgiving environment.
Just one little mistake can easily mean losing your drone.
Before attempting to fly from a boat, you need to have plenty of experience and know your drone very well.
You need to know everything you will be doing without having to think about it and you have to have practised it on dry land several times.
You will have to hand launch and hand catch.
And one other thing ... if the boat is moving that makes things quite a bit harder.
It makes for problems that are hard to imagine until you try it.

I would not recommend flying from a boat for a new flyer.