DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Line of Sight ?

Geekser

Reactions
I am new to flying drones - just got my Mavic Air 2 and love it - I have been watching tons of videos to learn more about techniques, and flying in general - I am curious about something and wonder if someone can fill me in? Don't flame me if this is a stupid question - it isn't the first time or the last time I have asked a Stupid Question -

Anyway - when I registered my Drone with the FAA - I read that flying a drone is restricted to line of sight - but then I see all of these videos where pilots are flying their drones miles away - clearly not line of sight - are they able to do that because they have a more advanced license or is there some other reason ? Just curious.....

There are no stupid questions....

Firstly, there are always people happy to ignore rules. Second, the FAA only regulate US air space. Some of the videos you have seen may well be in another country where laws are different. Lastly, not sure about the US, but here in the UK there are 'licences' (for want of a better word) which allow people to fly beyond VLOS.

There FAA in the US does issue waivers for beyond VLOS, but its very rare and seems to require a pretty detailed waiver process at the moment. I think one of their goals of remote id and similar rules are to be able to implement some more waivers or different rules around nighttime and beyond VLOS type things.

All that said, I think the vast majority of videos shown on youtube are illegal flying.

Thanks - of course, I should have remembered that the US is a small part of the Drone World - watching the videos I have seen -= many both in the US and internationally - I would love to get more information about what is "legal" in the US regarding Line Of Sight" and what isn't - what licenses are required - if any - and so on. if anyone can share their experience, it woiuld be appreciated.