DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking for a reason

Docfly

Reactions
I've been flying a Mavic Pro for 3 years, fixed wing RC airplanes for 2 years, and a Mavic Mini for 1 year.
Fixed wing: I watch the airplane as it flies and it's beautiful.
Mavics: I enjoy the FPV (first person view) and photograph abandoned structures. Tons of fun.
Now, I am seeking the next step. I am Part 107 certified, but am not looking to make money. I wonder how can a drone help during a disaster such as the hurricane that devastated Puerto Rico. Anyone have previous experience?

Perhaps you should start by contacting local authorities. I'm not sure of any of the structures in PR. There must be some sort of emergency management department including and excluding FEMA. Let them know of your capabilities, your equipment, experience FAA status and ask if there is anything that your area of expertise might help them with. You might show them samples of what you have already produced as it might help them come up with ideas they don't already have in mind.

In order to be a part of an Emergency Response you need to be imbedded with an agency and this needs to happen BEFORE the disaster. You need to understand Emergency Services and the ins-outs of how Command works and understand the "language". Otherwise you are likely consuming resources to help you that could be utilized to help those in need.

Make contact with your local Emergency Services Dept and find out what they need/want in terms of UAS functions.

Also check out our group called DSAR

The cover image was taken at our Western NC DSAR training event. At one time, IIRC, we had 26 UAS flying at the same time.

Reactions: Phantomrain.org
I've been flying a Mavic Pro for 3 years, fixed wing RC airplanes for 2 years, and a Mavic Mini for 1 year.
Fixed wing: I watch the airplane as it flies and it's beautiful.