DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Loss of RC connection and compass errors

mkmatthew

Reactions
HI all. Let me start by saying I'm VERY new to drones. I bought my Mini in March as a very high dollar splurge for myself. I mostly play around the house to learn and teach myself some skill. That plan hasn't really worked out yet. I still don't trust it or myself yet. The answer to my question may be answered by my biggest mistake.
The question- why do I lose RC connection just about EVERY time I fly? It's VERY unnerving considering my lack of experience. I do have AirdataUAV, but don't know how to get it to you guys. I also have to re calibrate the compass just about every fresh startup. I missed some important action once when It would not even accept the multiple re cal's I did that day. I was asked to capture some racing, and missed the first few people qualifying. That sucked, but it sucks more to lose connection.
So my probable(?) answer- My drone went swimming. Back in April.
I hit a branch over a pond and it dropped into the 55 degree water. Thankfully it was clear water and I found it about 4 ft under. I dried it out and it actually worked. ( I guess?) I'm guessing everything wrong could be attributed to water damage, but was wondering if anyone had other opinions. I have the Insurance, but it works- sort of. Not sure they will replace it yet.
Open for ideas
Thanks for listening

Where are you flying there seems to be a lot of magnetic interference if you need to calibrate each time ?
Try and find a spot free from possible magnetic interference to calibrate the compass e.g not inside the house

For the disconnection have you got the antennas correctly orientated ?
1598224968365.png

To help the signal, you could try some cheap yagi antennas

Reactions: mkmatthew
Water is never a good mix with any electronics. So if things remain problematic, you might want to use that insurance.