Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Lost my Mavic Mini when it suddenly dropped into a river

Status
Not open for further replies.

mini_fred

Reactions
Hello everyone.

I need help to figure out what happened to my drone, and if I can get a replacement from DJI because I have DJI Care Refresh.

It suddenly started descending by itself even though I was not pressing down on the stick. I am a newbie with less than 2 hours of flight experience, but I know I wasn't descending at the time.

Earlier in the flight I noticed it was drifting slowly sideways when it should have hovered in place.

I tried to retrieve it but I could not find it and didn't want to risk injury in the strong currents with hard jagged rocks just beneath the surface.

Do I have a case for a replacement from DJI as it seems to have malfunctioned and not my fault?

Here is a video of the last few seconds of that flight and the flight log:

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2020-08-21_[15-05-59].txt
    1 MB · Views: 19
Last edited:
You need to recover your drone for a replacement with the DJI Care Refresh.. I am not sure of your swimming skills but I would have no issues with recovering the drone if it were mine. With that being said, I am in no way saying you should try to recover it by swimming the the creek. Maybe a long pole with with some type of hook attached. As far as the reason for the crash, I'll let someone with that knowledge step in.

At the end of the flight when the drone was descending, the flight controller thought that it was doing the opposite ( zSpeed becomes negative in the chart ). There can be something wrong with the IMU. Will need the .DAT file for further analysis. Follow this thread to get the .DAT file : Mavic Flight Log Retrieval and Analysis Guide

1598167977855.png

Reactions: slup
Do I have a case for a replacement from DJI as it seems to have malfunctioned and not my fault?
Here's a summary of your flight data: