DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

M A 2 Controller.

Nearlypastit

Reactions
Hi all. I’m fairly new to all this drone flying. I purchased the MA 2 (I’m surprised my wife agreed) and flown it several times with varying degrees of success. Sometimes forgetting to switch on record, watching on my phone screen and thinking it looks good then after landing realising I wasn’t recording.
What I want to ask is advice on the controller. I’m using my Samsung S8+ and that’s ok but was wondering whether it might be better to have a dedicated screen/phone just for the drone. I definitely can’t afford the smart controller. Is there a tablet that would fit on the controls that might be more affordable?
Perhaps I will have to stick with my phone but was just looking at other possibilities.
I thought if I asked all the experts someone might have some advice.

You will get a lot of advice on this site and opinions.
Please also watch some videos on the subject after you find something that might interest you.
It all about how much you want to spend.
My choice was being able to see it and control my investment.... the drone.
I like the iPad Mini 5 and I know how much it cost plus I had to get a holder for it.
I also made one for only 3 dollars but decide to just go ahead and buy the holder.
Good luck and I will include a pic of my set up.

Attachments

• IMG_20200714_074420.jpg
    IMG_20200714_074420.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_20200714_074432.jpg
    IMG_20200714_074432.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 19
Is there some problem with using your phone? Why do you think something else will be better?
For the record, I am very happy with the controller/phone interface on the MA2.

Is there some problem with using your phone? Why do you think something else will be better?
Two reason comes to mind at least in my opinion.
How old you are and how good is your eye site.
Big improvement when I went from phone to iPad.

Reactions: A.O.