DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MA2 splashed in to the water.

Hollmuth

Reactions
Hello everyone and greetings from Finland.

I am a new Mavic pilot and this is my first drone. I bought it like 2 months ago. I have been reading this forum a bit and was hoping to write something more nice things here first, but unfortunately I have to start with this kind of case.

I was taking hyperlapse about beautiful sunset 50m altitude and about 15m from shore. After hyperlapse there was about13% of battery and in my mind it should have been enough to bring it from that close position to land. (I have normally kept 30% rule to take drone home) But as I tried to bring it home by first lowing altitude it started automatic landing from 20 m above water. I could do nothing? I also froze a little bit and I am not sure if it could have been possible to steer home while it vas doing emergency landing? I checked phone for cancel button and there was none? I dived it from maybe 1m deep in 5 minutes (had to get snorkels from boat).I am sure I could have taken it safely home from that distance if it did not do automatic landing. It is weird that you could not even cancel it? From flight data I can see there was still 10% of battery after it had landed in the lake. Here is link to video about flight data. After 0.40min starts to happen.
MA2SPLASHVIDEODATA

So What do you think about this? Is this 100% my fault and did I understand correctly that if emergency landing takes place you cannot cancel it? Is there any reason to send it to DJI?