Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Magnetic interference with phone

Deadpool1089

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
19
I'm not sure if anyone else has experienced this but whenever I set up my mavic 2 pro to fly it is fine until I plug my phone into the controller, after i connect my phone (galaxy s8+) it comes up with the "check app" and magnetic interference warning which I then have to calibrate the compass anytime I want to fly
 

AMann

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
1,665
Loc
Southern CA
Some phones hae a lot of ferrous metals in them, and any electronics put out electromagnetic interference as well.
 

jaysrmc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
776
Reaction score
491
Loc
Phoenix
I'm not sure if anyone else has experienced this but whenever I set up my mavic 2 pro to fly it is fine until I plug my phone into the controller, after i connect my phone (galaxy s8+) it comes up with the "check app" and magnetic interference warning which I then have to calibrate the compass anytime I want to fly
i have the exact same problem but it is on an ipad mini 4. Everything looks great on the screen of the RC until I plug in the ipad then I get magnetic inteference check app. I usually just lift it up and then put right back down and it goes away.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
2,160
Reaction score
675
Age
53
Strange that the USB cable would be the cause.

The phone and RC should usually be sufficiently far away from the AC where it has no bearing.
 

kilomikebravo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
779
Age
66
Loc
Corpus Christi, TX
I'm with Dan on this and don't see how the cable could be the culprit. I've used a Mini4 (WiFi only) with my M2P many times and have never seen this message. OP, are you taking off from the same position? I know you said every time you fly but you didn't say if you've changed the takeoff location. Mag interference with a GPS drone is absolutely, positively NOT something you want to see. But why the message goes away after a quick liftoff and landing is beyond me. Maybe SAR, Bud, or Rob will have some suggestions.
 

MOONPIE82

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
50
Reaction score
27
Age
36
I've flown with both apple phones and android while the apple I'll get no such message but whe flying android I will get the message same spot same drone only the phone differs until j changed out the micro usb
 

lapresle

New Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
57
I have never NOT received this message. I think its standard to have to calibrate it before every use, no matter the phone or location.
 

Thomas B

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
3,063
Reaction score
2,100
Loc
Gilbert, Arizona
I have never NOT received this message. I think its standard to have to calibrate it before every use, no matter the phone or location.
I have never gotten this message with IPhone XR or Crystalsky with my Spark, MPP or M2P. I have only had to recalibrate after a crash or in a distant new location which I do as routine.
 

lapresle

New Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
57
I wish that was my case, I have to recalibrate every time I fly it. I have an iPhone 7, I wonder if that's the issue.
 

kilomikebravo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
779
Age
66
Loc
Corpus Christi, TX
lapresle: I wish I had an answer for the compass cal business but I don't and I have almost never seen the re-cal error message. I hope you get it figured out.

Now, where did you get that drawing of "The Dude" in your avatar? :) (One of my favorite films.)
 

Thomas B

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
3,063
Reaction score
2,100
Loc
Gilbert, Arizona
I wish that was my case, I have to recalibrate every time I fly it. I have an iPhone 7, I wonder if that's the issue.
I understand your frustration. At this point I’d only be able to recommend you take the issue to DJI. Best of luck getting it sorted out.
 

Mavic 57

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Messages
268
Reaction score
152
Age
62
I use a S8+ Never had this problem.
 

Mr Gaggler

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I saw the same error this evening. I used 3 different take-off locations. Using Pixel 2 XL.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
64,325
Messages
749,690
Members
91,298
Latest member
spookymulder