DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Major issues with low quality footage and setting, any help is appreciated!

joeyjackets

Reactions
Hi, I am brand new to all of this, I recently got a job that requires me to do some light drone videography. The company purchased a Mavic pro 2 which I was pretty excited about because I had see a lot of the amazing footage it is capable of around the internet. However, my experience with using it has been beyond frustrating unfortunately. I watched plenty of instructional videos explaining all the basics and how to use all the menu items, etc. Even when I fly it, it looks amazing on screen as I am capturing the footage. The problem starts when I pull the footage to use in my video editor. I have the settings to record at 4k, 30 fps, mov, H.265 in the drone log format, however when I get the footage from the SD or controller, it is scaled down, terrible quality, and none of the settings are correct. Instead, the footage is 1920x1088 resolution, mp4, H.264 codec and unusable quality. It's almost like it is kicking out proxies instead of the full resolution footage. No matter what settings I try and record with, it is always the same result, it's like everything I select is being overridden by some setting I am unaware of. I searched around looking for others who have the same problem, but I can't really find anything that matches my issue (maybe I am not using the right search terms). So I figured I would join here and see if any of you beautiful experts might be able to educate me or help figure out the problem. Let me know if you need further information, I am really hoping I am just missing a stupid setting somewhere and just need to switch it off :D. Thanks in advance!

Reactions: chiangmaicharlies
Please forgive me if I am being over simplistic. It is not my intention to question your abilities.

1. What editor are you using?