DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Manual orbit precision with RC Pro controller …

ninjafingers

Reactions
I own a Mavic Air 2 with the original controller it came with, as well as Mavic 3 with the RC Pro controller. I’ve been flying drones for a few years now, and feel like I’ve gradually improved at maneuvering in moderately complex ways, but the RC Pro control sticks seem to lack resistance if that makes sense, and I’m just not used to it yet. When I am doing manual orbits around say a very large building, I’m having some difficulty making the orbit totally smooth. It’s not bad, bud I feel like if I breathe I’ll screw it up because the sensitivity of the sticks is unforgiving.

I feel like it would be awesome if I could lock the control stick in place if I was rolling left to go around a large building, so I could focus on just the yaw movement while the roll remains perfectly steady.

Or if I could increase the tension on the control sticks, that might be helpful too. I know this sounds like I just need to practice orbits and more complex movements now with the RC Pro, and that’s probably true, but are there any nifty tools or capabilities of the hardware to help me with this, besides the baked-in POI (with its limitations), and besides waiting for a waypoint capability or SDK support?

but are there any nifty tools or capabilities of the hardware to help me with this, besides the baked-in POI (with its limitations), and besides waiting for a waypoint capability or SDK support?
Have a look at this video my Philip Bloom from 54:30 same issue and a coupe of solutions. Someone like Freewell might make some slow sticks eventually but also Philip has started a petition to get DJI to allow us a true tripod mode which may help. Good luck!

Reactions: ninjafingers