DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mapping recommendations: Web ODM vs Maps made easy

bburnett15

Reactions
Im new to mapping and tired of chasing things down on the internet so i’d like to hear from some of you who have experience with either of these. I am at work now and will probably pull the trigger on WebODM tonight after i get home Unless im hearing disturbing feedback.
first let me say that Drone Deploy is cost prohibitive for my purposes.

i have a (new) M3E and will be using that mapping program.
I have tried Skyebrowse and while it is great as tool for first responders, i need something more “standard’ (that is also affordable) while i learn and build a portfolio. Modelling ability is not crucial at this time.

i have been using Maps made Easy and it has worked great but looks like it is going to be about $30 per map based on the areas and level of detail i will be looking at. i am happy with the level of detail i get on maps made easy, (270 images, 13 acres) but i havent figured out how best to employ their point system.

WebODM also looks good and i understand it runs off your desktop But can also use a network server for larger files. I recently upgraded to a MacStudio M1, 1TB and 64GB- I know it should work, but how does this setup sound on the scale of what would be good for WebODM?

i think i may wind up using both- WebODM up to a certain size and then the Pay-As-you-go plan at maps made easy.

thoughts on these two?

Last edited:
Reactions: Spartan Drones
WebODM is pretty good, *but* it's not particularly user friendly.