DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Pro- General durability

HTNFSH

Reactions
Hey All,

I'm still a pretty new pilot with 5 1/2 hours of flight time on my Mavic 2 Pro. So far I've been impressed with the system, but still do not like using my phone as the display.

However, I have to give a shout-out for durability. Where I fly is rural and sometimes lots of trees. I was attempting to shoot fireworks one evening and lost orientation in the dark. Well, I drifted right into a 40-foot tree canopy and thought all was lost. The next morning I figured that a decent sized weight on a long rope was the easiest way to retrieve it. It took about 25 tries to hit the branches just right and the drone pinballed it's way to the ground. Not even a broken prop was found. Just a little dirt and she was flying again that afternoon.

Consider yourself lucky and yes, the M2P is a fairly stout aircraft. It is usually the camera and gimbal that get most of the damage in most cases. Good to see your back up and flying.

Reactions: Droniac
Glad to hear your M2P was no worse for the experience.

I'm with you on not having liked using a phone for a display device. Too dim, too small, and being an older model, simply not up to the task. A tablet of some sort would be the way to go, in my opinion. I went with the 7.85" CrystalSky, though I think the new 8" Tripltek would be my choice today.

Enjoy your drone.

Reactions: Droniac and HTNFSH
I'd suggest you perform the following checks.
1) Open the the arms of the drone as if you were going to fly it then hold the drone at eye level and check if the front arms slope by the same amount as each other.