DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Zoom range issue

LandShark19

Reactions
I am new to drones and so this issue may be more reflective of my inexperience than anything else, but it seems like I am not getting the range I expected with my Mavic 2 Zoom. I purchased it a little over a week ago and have been flying everyday, and I don't ever get more than half a mile before I am out of range of my RC. The drone always kicks in RTH and I reconnect as it is coming back, but it would be nice to be able to go out a little farther. So far I have only flown in my neighborhood which is in the suburbs, and I know that there is probably a lot of interference. Is there a setting that I can modify that can give me some additional range, or am I just going to have to invest in a range extender/booster? I have been reading all over this forum, and there are a lot of threads about different extenders/boosters, but what is the most recommended for the Mavic 2 if I do end up having to go that route? Thanks!

Reactions: Mavic Pro Platinum
Ensure your Antenna are correctly positioned (the flat sides face the drone at either a 45 or 90 degree angle depending on your holding position), and ensure the drone is high enuff in the air. As your drone flies out farther more and more ground interference comes into play so you must increase in altitude to acheive the same connection strength. I live in the suburbs in New Jersey and easily get over 5000 ft if needed....(which I rarely do unless its a great clear day so I can see it)

Best of luck!!