DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 3 DNGs are Problematical

mavicbopper

Reactions
I've been shooting DJI DNGs for three years with the Mavic 2 Pro. Now I've started with the Mavic 3 Classic. I experienced very satisfying results processing the M2P DxO, first to convert the image to tiff, then into Lightroom or Photoshop. Always great results.

I will add that LR is LR6 (very old) and PS is CS5 (also very old). DxO is Lab2, all older versions (without subscriptions).

Now with the Mavic 3 DNG, I can only use Adobe Camera Raw to start the DNG process and get the image into PhotoShop. For some reason, ACR6 will open the DNG, but unsurprisingly, PS CS5, will not . Neither will DxO for the Mavic 3 DNGs. The M2P DNGs will open in DxO. But, with all this the eventual movement of the Mavic 3 DNGs though ACR and into PS CS5, then to LR6 (laborious), ends up producing very poor results. I find the sliders in LR6 producing very little affect.

DJI did something and it's not good. Something changed with the DNGs between M2P and M3C. I'm going to try the DxO Pure Raw 30 Day trial to see if this will address the situation.

As others have commented, the jpg images are FAR Superior to what I can produce from the M3C DNGs. The Mavic 3 Classic is a great FLYER, but the still photos using DNG are very disappointing.

Reactions: SFC117
The Mavic 3 Classic is a great FLYER, but the still photos using DNG are very disappointing.
Must be your old software. I think the DNG files from the Classic are really good, and can take a lot of adjustment/tweaking before they crack up. I use the aged Photoshop CS6 with Camera Raw 8.6.

Reactions: rickmurray1989
The Mavic 3 Classic is a great FLYER, but the still photos using DNG are very disappointing.
Upload an example to dropbox or similar and post a link for someone else to see what they can do with it.
That should confirm whether the issue is the dng file or something at your end.