DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 2 crash, can an expert check my logs?

dan_man_2020

Reactions
Situation:
  • I'm a new drone pilot, fourth flight, foggy conditions, no wind. (I should have known better than to fly it in fog).
  • 3min into flight, motor error 30163 "Check Propellers". Condensation from the fog was probably entering the system,
  • 7min, I manually put it into RTH, drone turns around then stops, it's in RTH mode but doesn't return. Confused I take it to 170ft thinking maybe a tree was in the way (it climbed the last 20ft on it's own. It seemed confused too). Still not returning, it begins to lose altitude.
  • at 7:43, still 110ft in the air, motor quits, drone hits the ground at 40mph, snapping an arm, breaking the gimbal, clay packed in a rear motor and probably more. I assume DJI will want $500 to fix, or maybe some super glue...
  • After some cleaning and some temporary duct tape, props are spinning free and I'm ready to test the electronics. Props do their little flicker startup thing, seem fine but ESC Error, 30085. Time to download some low level diagnostic software from DJI.com, check POST, test each motor individually, etc. Boy was I in for a surprise...
Why I'm here: After spending a night getting familiar with the logs, I think I'm seeing that the right front motor went plooey mid-air, maybe the ECS board too, idk. My next move is to replace that arm and maybe it'll clear the error. I was wondering if someone with more experience could take a look at my logs and see if they agree that I'm on the right track with replacing the RH front motor.

Or maybe just forget about the whole thing and just use this one for parts. What do you think?

Attachments

• 2021-01-16_07-10-31_FLY019.DAT
    9.4 MB · Views: 31
  • DJIFlightRecord_2021-01-16_[07-10-59].txt
    941.3 KB · Views: 22
BTW, thanks