DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 2 (MA 2) & LAANC

IndianaDrones

Reactions
As I understand it, there currently is no way to obtain "on the spot" LAANC approval through any of the available mobile apps because MA 2 is on the DJI Fly platform and not DJI Go?

I've spent so much time searching and watching tutorials that dont apply AND tons of posts about "..SDK this and that..." I am starting to realize for commercial pilots, the MA 2 is not a viable platform at the moment.

Please tell me I am ignorant and there is an alternative?

Thanks pilots!!
-Cody

Last edited:
Use Airmap or Kittyhawk for LAANC approval. There's no connection between "LAANC approval" and "DJI Flysafe."

I'm a Part 107 pilot, and I fly an MA2 with LAANC approval pretty much every day - since I live under a Class B shelf.

Reactions: dawgpilot
Use Airmap or Kittyhawk for LAANC approval. There's no connection between "LAANC approval" and "DJI Flysafe."

I'm a Part 107 pilot, and I fly an MA2 with LAANC approval pretty much every day - since I live under a Class B shelf.

Neither app gives me those options when I select the right menus/buttons for any tutorials I have watched.

Like for Kittyhawk you should be able to click the plus icon and get the option you need to submit a request. Mine only has 2 options (see attached).

Let me be clear, this is to request for a recreational flyer at the moment.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20200817-153721_Kittyhawk.jpg
    Screenshot_20200817-153721_Kittyhawk.jpg
    125.4 KB · Views: 13
Kittyhawk won't give you an option to get LAANC approval if you're not in a place that requires it. For example, here's Kittyhawk at my regular flight area - which is under a Class B, and *definitely* requires LAANC to fly legally.

IMG_0145.jpg

Ah the only time I have tested it was in Class D which had a 100 foot restriction. Shouldn't that have done it?

Thanks!