DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 2 range problem

Nele

Reactions
hi, I'm new to using a mavic air 2 with the dji fly app. And now to my problem.
Everything worked until I would test the range of how far I can fly with it. It says in the manual up to 6000 meters but I always get between 500 - 1000 meters and then the RC signal with drones disappears and starts activating RTH. I have tried in different places and open fields but the results will be the same. Have watched many youtube clips and read on various forums, some say change channel mode intransmission from auto my problem is that it is not possible to change auto mode for what you do so it is locked in the app. Does anyone know how to change it? Some even have a custom button in the app. Is there a solution to my problem? Also read on a forum page that not only I who have problems with the range from 500 - 750 meters but they did not get a good answer to it but return it to the store.

Is there any solution to the problem or just return it?

Thanx

A lot depends on where you fly. Best range I've had on my drone is about 8x the worst range, and people have gone 4x further than that with the same model. If you go away from buildings people and fly reasonably high you should a lot more range than close to buildings, and low.

Keep in mind what your local laws might say about flying a drone without being able to see it. (Your profile says Sweden and I don't know what it says there, but many places you must keep the drone in sight at all times).

There's quite a few threads on here discussing this.

Mine won't fly farther than 1500 feet from my house.

I don't fly farther than 2000' typically anyway.

I'm probably going to try flying along the coast today, to see if I can get at least a mile out of it.