DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air Camera Protection

john2k

Reactions
I am a complete newbie to the DJI family so please excuse any questions that might sound silly. I am also a newbie to the Drone world. I started of by buying a Parrot Bebop 2 about a month ago and had some good flights with it. However, one of the biggest things I was annoyed with was how the camera is constructed in it. The entire camera is a single unit which has the fisheye lens directly glued to the camera. This unfortunately meant that even with the smallest crash I ended up with a nasty scratch on the lens. This resulted in bad hazing in my videos.

Only option to fix it was to replace the entire camera for a £150 brand new camera. So anyway to cut the long story short, I decided to ditch the Parrot and go for the Mavic Air. I've ordered my Mavic Air in Arctic White and delivery is expected in 1-2days. I was really torn between the Flame Red and the Arctic white. Would be nice to hear what others think of these two colours and what colours everyone else went for and why?

Back to my original question: So my experience with the Parrot camera has left me slightly worried as crashes on these kind of devices are surely inevitable at some point. So question is does the lens on the Mavic Air directly stick out like the Parrot meaning if it was to touch the ground will it scratch? or is it more recessed so if it was to touch the ground it wont touch or scratch the lens?

There are many images on the Web showing how the camera is positioned. If it (the Air) "touches" the ground it will not scratch the lens. If it crashes into the ground then the gimbal would most likely be damaged, depending on the speed and ground conditions.

As djiboi suggests, a filter would protect the lens from scratches. ND filters are needed for smooth video so I am always flying with one on my MP.

Reactions: swooshdave