DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air falls out of sky

alex_uncut

Reactions
I have been flying a Mavic Pro for two years and never had an issue. Last month I fly my brand new Mavic Air on the beach and after about 2 minutes it fell out of the sky. I saw a lot of birds around and thought maybe a bird clipped the props, although there was no damage. Yesterday at a party in my friends house I took the Mavic Air up to about 20 feet to film an event and after about 30 seconds of flight, the Mavic Air just dropped out of the sky into the lake right behind me (battery was fully charged).The lake was no more than 20 feet from me and I was able to recover the aircraft, but I am baffled what happened here. I am not an expert in flying drones but I feel very comfortable. There were no obstructions and airspace was completely clear and I had visula contact. As I mentioned, it was no more than 20 feet away from me at an altitude of no more than 30 feet. Anyone have any ideas what could have happened?

You will get some advice once you upload the files

It says to attach the reports "here" but there is no link. I should attach them here in the thread. Excuse my ignorance, I am brand new to this.

Upload via those instruction links and then post the resulting link here.

It says to attach the reports "here" but there is no link. I should attach them here in the thread. Excuse my ignorance, I am brand new to this.
You can upload the TXT file to my log viewer and post the link back here. Or just attach both the TXT and DAT files here.

You can upload the TXT file to my log viewer and post the link back here. Or just attach both the TXT and DAT files here.
My understanding is that if you pull both sticks to inside center...the motors turn off? Correct me if I am wrong.

Only if you enable that. Otherwise the CSC method only works in an 'emergency'. (Whatever that is??)cscapp.jpg