DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air - Filters for Photography (not videography)

Antman

Reactions
Hi All

Sorry if this question has already been answered. I have recently purchased 2 drones primarily for photography purposes (not videography) .... Phantom 4 Advantage and Mavic Air. I'm new to photography and have read quite a few posts in regards to the use of filters for cinematic videography however was wanting to know if filters are equally as beneficial for photography purposes? I have read that using filters for videography causes the desired result of motion blur however as I'd be using them for photography I'd want the images as sharp as possible with no blur. Most of my drone photography will be of buildings/property and I live in a warm location (no snow but lots of sunny days and I will be taking photos of waterfront properties showing the ocean).

If beneficial any advice on ...
(1) the best brands (obviously polarpro is the most common but are there any others of similar quality at a better price?)
& (2) the best filter levels given my usages mentioned above? I'm thinking ND16/32 would be appropriate and maybe polarised?

Any advice which could be provided would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)

Cheers
Ant

Maybe eyesight is the first thing to go.
The filters seem to have a negative effect (2 tried) on the scenery where I live. Lots of clouds, green fields, Trees and lots of evergreens, blue skies but the sun keeps me flying away from it....many times backward just to avoid blasts of sunshine.
It is that way here in Oregon, and Ya' just never know.

Maybe eyesight is the first thing to go.
The filters seem to have a negative effect (2 tried) on the scenery where I live. Lots of clouds, green fields, Trees and lots of evergreens, blue skies but the sun keeps me flying away from it....many times backward just to avoid blasts of sunshine.