DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air - multiple errors/issues

fastcz5

Reactions
Hello,

I am a newbie to drone world. Mavic Air is my first decent size/quality drone. I am facing few issues while flying it and have some quick questions.

Notes about my flying
  • To feel safe in my learning days, I have a max distance and altitude set to 50 m (164 ft).
  • RTH = ~20-30 m depending on where I fly.
  • Am using the controller with DHI Go app on my Google Pixel XL phone
Issues
  • When using Quickshots mode: Dronie, Boomerang and Helix fail midway with an error on my screen "max!" in yellow color. There is no other text or indication of anything wrong.
    • APAS also gets disabled at this time
    • I set the distance of dronie mode to be within my max distance (that is, I set it to ~20-30m)
    • I have tried it in an open field with no interference
    • The drone hovers in place, when the error shows up
  • When using active track, the drone follows me, and after a while stops following me, with a message in the app - "Entering Restricted Mode"
    • I was flying in a park, with no known restrictions, etc. The DJI app doesn't show any restrictions issues in that region
    • The area where I fly is reported as within 5 miles of airport, when I use B4UFLY, (although its more than 5 miles) and I submit all the necessary information
  • I was in a different park yesterday to see if that makes a difference, however, I was receiving a lot of interference in that park. It was at a point that the video in the app was lagging to an unusable point
    • This was near a basketball court and a fencing around it.
Questions
  • Video Recording (4k)
    • When I played the video recorder in 4k @ 30fps, it was somewhat laggy on my Desktop PC. It may be that my PC (processor or grpahics) was not handling 4k properly