DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air Sunset Camera Settings

pguidara

Reactions
I'm new to this page and drone flying. I have had my air for bout 3 weeks now and I'm very happy with the purchase. I live on a mountain and my house is right on the cliff. I get some amazing sunsets and have tried a few times to capture them with the air. they turn out okay but nothing like what see with my eye. I understand it might not get that good. I just wanted to see setting what others have used and got a good shot. Just an FYI I don't have any filters.

The mavic air does not have great dynamic range, so you will struggle to get the same as what you see with the eye. Make sure you shootnin raw or use AEB.

Reactions: Pedro
You need filters, shoot in raw and then need to process in a third party software (I use Lightroom).
Start by getting white balance / temperature right, good exposure (use the histogram) and then reducing highlights and boosting shadows to taste. Then you will need to take it from their based on the scene.

Why use filters for stills? You should be able to correctly expose without them.

Reactions: 4wd
Why use filters for stills? You should be able to correctly expose without them.

When shooting a scene like a horizon that has a clear dark and light zone, you would either expose for the dark and the light would be completely blown out, or if you expose for the light, the dark would have no detail remaining.

By using a filter, you expose for the dark and then the filter takes care of the light and prevents it being blown out.

Technically, taking any photo directly towards the sun is a bad idea. If you know how to do this correctly you can make it work, although most of the images you see that really nail this are multiple images blended together, usually taken over a 10-15min period (just before sunset and then through until the sun has gone below the horizon)