DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air vs Mavic Pro (not the 2 Pro) for still image quality

jgnu

Reactions
I'm new to drones, but an experienced photographer. I mainly shoot landscapes, and I'm looking into getting a drone for landscape photography.

I've ruled out the most obvious choice; the mavic pro 2. I can't justify the cost, really.

My main concern is getting good enough still image quality, and I'm willing to do a lot of post-processing (and I'm pretty good at it, too).
When shooting landscapes I use a m4/3 system, so I'm used to maximizing the value from smaller sensors (multiple exposures for higher DR, for example, or panorama stitching for higher resolution/detail).

Anyway, I believe my two main candidates are the mavic air or the mavic pro (probably the platinum version).
I've got a pretty good grip on what sets these two apart, but I find it hard to find a lot of resources when it comes to still image quality. Everything I read/watch is about the increased bit rate of video for the Air, but I don't care about video.

Is there a noticable difference in sharpness between the Air and the Pro for still images (at ISO 100, DNG format, with the image correctly focused for the PRO and not a defect copy of the Air since I've read about some problems with the fixed focus)?

I'm new to drones, but an experienced photographer. I mainly shoot landscapes, and I'm looking into getting a drone for landscape photography.

I've ruled out the most obvious choice; the mavic pro 2. I can't justify the cost, really.

My main concern is getting good enough still image quality, and I'm willing to do a lot of post-processing (and I'm pretty good at it, too).
When shooting landscapes I use a m4/3 system, so I'm used to maximizing the value from smaller sensors (multiple exposures for higher DR, for example, or panorama stitching for higher resolution/detail).