DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air vs P3P noise - Spectrum Analysis - The Truth!

Talley

Reactions
Been flying my P3P for 2 years now. Been super happy. I've held off buying into the mavic pro or P4P just because of various reasons but when the Air was released I decided to pull the trigger. One fact for me is I needed portability. I didn't like the Spark at all... no interest because I'm a photographer and I require Raw and I also prefer shooting 4K video as well. The Mavic was interesting and I wanted it but it was still "too large" to fit in my camera bag where I travel with my 5D4 + lenses. So when I saw the size of the Air folded it was a perfect mix for me. The only downsides I have right now is the battery life (15min real life) vs my P3P is normally 17-18min and the noise doesn't match the new Mavic Platinum which REALLY interested me. But the mavic didn't fit in the spot I wanted to put the Air.

So either way my experience in the audiophile/recording studios led me to record the audio using a calibrated microphone and RTA software. Immediately I knew the Air was much quieter than the P3P and that made me happy. Obviously all you people will argue to no end about air vs mavic but thats whatever.

Here is the results:

Phantom 3 Professional
P3P.jpg

Mavic Air
air.jpg

As you can see the Air is missing the bottom 200hz spike. Our ears are most sensitive in the 2k-4k range and there is about a -3db reduction at that range. We are also prone in the 700-1K range and that is a significant impact in energy levels at the 700hz range. The P3P has it's highest spike at 75db at 700hz while the Air is only 68db...

So while it's important to say what is the loudness... our ears perceive loudness in a different manner than just a "SPL METER". It's important to know where this loudness is at in the frequency range.

Now to get ahold of a Mavic Pro Platinum to test it's low noise props :)