DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic First Flight Uncontrolled - Magnetic Interference

beachcombing

Reactions
I got my Mavic yesterday. It was raining so I could fly, but I updated the firmware and calibrated the compass and IMU.

I'm not a novice. I have a Phantom 3 Professional and had a Phantom 2 Vision + before that and harebve flown numerous flights with no issues.

Today, I took the Mavic out at lunch to test fly it since the clouds briefly cleared.

The first time I went up about 15 feet and immediately got a warning that said "Warning:Compass Interference. Temp Max Altitude: 16FT" and a few seconds later I got "FORCE LANDING". Note that I had a good GPS signal when I took off.

So I shut everything down and restarted the controller and the Mavic. The DJI Go app said to calibrate the compass so I did that, got a good GPS signal and took off. I only got about 15 feet high before the Mavic took off sideways. I tried full down throttle and it would not come all the way down and went screaming fast toward the street. Thankfully, it missed the trees and the cars in the street and landed without any damage.

Here's the Healthy Drones data.
HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
Here's the video.

I moved over to the other side where there was a little bit more room, but I kept getting interference when I got to about 50 feet.

Note that I have flown my Phantom 3 in this exact spot with absolutely no problems.

Any ideas?

Reactions: Reverend Greg
Since you're a seasoned pilot, I'm guessing you know most sidewalks are chock-full of metal. Did you calibrate the compass on the sidewalk too?